Latest News

(4/21) Finished a new work called Snipe on progressive visualizatoin of large networks.
(2/21) Co-chairing the VLDB 2021 Industrial Track.
(2/21) A joint paper with Informatics colleagues titled "Why Do People Oppose Mask Wearing? A Comprehensive Analysis of US Tweets During the COVID-19 Pandemic" accepted by JAMIA .
(1/21) Co-teaching Stats170A titled "Project in Data Science".
(10/20) Together with Prof. David Timberlake of Public Health, received a grant from TRDRP on social media analysis on tobacco.
(10/20) Gave a keynote talk titled Collaborative Interdisciplinary ML-Centric Data Analytics at Scale at NDBC 2020.
(9/20) Check our Amber video and Texer demo video at VLDB 2020.
(7/20) Paper titled "Tempura: A General Cost-Based Optimizer Framework for Incremental Data Processing" accepted by VLDB 2021.
(7/20) Became the Faculty Director of the ICS Master of Computer Science Program.
(6/20) Received an NSF RAPID grant with Profs. Gloria Mark and Suellen Hopefer on Covid-19 analysis using social media.
(6/20) Our paper titled "Demonstration of Interactive Runtime Debugging of Distributed Dataflows in Texera" has been accepted by VLDB 2020.


Current PhD students (with starting year)
Sadeem Alsudais (2018)
Yicong Huang (2019)
Qiushi Bai (2017)
Avinash Kumar (2017)
Rui Guo (2018)
Shengquan Ni (2019)
Zuozhi Wang (2017)
Past PhD students (with starting year)
Alex Behm (2013, Cloudera)
Inci Cetindil (2014, Facebook, Incomplete :-()
Jamshid Esmaelnezhad (incomplete)
Jianfeng Jia (2018, Google)
Michal Shmueli-Scheuer (2009, IBM Research)
Rares Vernica (2011, HP Labs)
Sattam Mubark Alsubaiee (2014, KACST)
Shengyue Ji (2011, Google)
Taewoo Kim (2018, Microsoft)
Young-Seok Kim (2016, Samsung)

Undergraduates and attended graduate school

The following are (partial list of) undergraduates who participated in our research, including mostly UCI students, visiting students, and remote students.

  • 2020-2021Mingji Han – UMass Amherst (PhD), Chen He – CMU (MS), Chaomin Li (Isaac) – UC Berkeley (MCS), Xiaozhen Liu – UCI (PhD), Youan Lu – Cornell (MS), Rohan Reddy Mannem – USC (MS), Yongfei Tan – Columbia (MS), Tongjie Wang – USC (MS), Bihao Xu – Uchicago (MS).
  • 2019-2020Dayue Bai – UIUC (MS), Yinan Zhou – UCI (MS), Shiqi Wu – Berkeley (MS), Christine Xinrong Huang – CMU (MS), Tianran Liu – Univ of Washington (MS), Joseph Tiancheng Zheng – CMU (MS), Guanyang He – CMU (MS), Yutong Wang – UCD (PhD), Tingxuan Gu – CMU (MS), Yichi Zhang  -NYU (MS), Xinyue Han – UCLA (MS), Qiaonan Huang (Hugo) – Brown (MS), Yuan Fu – CMU (SE-SV), Yuqi Huai – UCI (PhD), Quanzhen Du – UCSD (MS), Shiling (Scarlett) Zhang – Cornell (MS), Yi Zhao – Rice (MS), Er Zhuo – UCSD (MS), Qiandong Tang – GeorgiaTech (MS), Jiahao Xu – USC (MS), Yitan Ze – UIUC(MS).
  • 2018-2019: Bolin Chen – Duke/CS/MS; Ximing (Oliver) Chen – UCLA/CS/MS; Yang Cao – UCI/CS/MS; Yinhao He – UCI/NetSys/MS; Jiaqi Li – Univ. of Washington/Statistics/PhD; Zichang Liu – USC/CS/MS; Yi Sun – UCI/CS/MS; Anqi (Angela) Wang – SJSU/CS/MS; Sibo Wang – Rice/CS/MS; Tao Wang – UC Davis/CS/MS; Jingkaihui Wei – Columbia/CS/MS; Yuran Yan – USC/Game/MS; Meng (Simon) Zhou – UCI/NetSys/MS; Student (anonymous) – Columbia/CS/MS.
  • 2017-2018: Niklas Stoehr (from TU Berlin) – University College London/Web Science and Big Data Analytics/MS; Haohan Zhang – CMU/CS/MS.

Past MS students, Postdocs, and visitors

  • PhD student Zhihui Yang (Fudan University, China), 2019-2020.
  • Prof. Weifeng Shan (Institute of Disaster Prevention, China), 2017-2018
  • PhD student Liming Dong (Tsinghua University, China), 2/2018-9/2019
  • Prof. Qinhua Huang (Shanghai University of Politics Science and Law, China), 2016-2017
  • Prof. Hui Zhang (Henan Academy of Agricultural Science & Technology), 2016-2017
  • Prof. Wenhai Li, Wuhan University (China), 3/2015-3/2016.
  • Athena Ahmadi, MS, 2012, Google
  • Prof. Jongik Kim, Chonbuk National University (Korea), 2012-2013.
  • Athena Ahmadi, MS, 2012, Google
  • Manik Sikka, MS, 2011
  • Sandeep Paul Katumalla, MS
  • Nagesh Honnalli, MS, 2010 – 2011, Amazon
  • Andrea Zilio, Exchange student from Italy, 2010 – 2011, Google.
  • Yabin Zheng, 2009 – 2010, Visiting PhD student from Tsinghua University, China.
  • Prof. Heri Ramampiaro, 2009 – 2010, Visiting professor from Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU).
  • Vijay Rajakumar, MS 2008-2010. Bimaple
  • Minh Doan, MS 2008-2010.
  • Jiaheng Lu, Postdoc 2006-2008, first appointment: faculty at Renmin University, China.
  • Yiming Lu, MS 2006-2008, first appointment: Microsoft.
  • Vassia Pavlaki, PhD student from NTUA, Greece. Visitor, Summer 2005 and April 2006.
  • Bin Wang (PhD candidate) and Xiaochun Yang (professor), Northeastern University, China. Visitors, summer 2006, summer 2007.
  • Houtan Shirani-Mehr, MS in 2006, became a PhD student at USC.
  • Chris Trezzo, Undergrad student (SURF-IT), summer 2006.
  • Jia Li, MS in 2005, first appointment: an IT company in the bay area.
  • Liang Jin, MS in 2005, first appointment: Microsoft.
  • Qi Zhong, MS in 2005, first appointment: Microsoft.